ADVENTURE DIARY http://adventurediary.neocities.org/ 2014 WEEKEND LOG ======== May 17, 2014 First Hike in Nordegg (Solo) It is May Long, and I decide it's time to start hiking. Not only will it be my first hike, it'll be my first hike in the mountains of Nordegg and I'll be completely alone. I chart out my route, buy a bunch of supplies and lurk message boards for three days before departing. I prepare for rain, bears, getting lost, etc. I'm well equipped. After I depart, I realize that the mountains are still completely snow covered. 8km along the trail, the snow becomes knee deep. I press on, climbing up and up and up. After a few hours, I get to a peak. It's got a huge radio antenna and a shack. I decide to camp near it. Just then, the weirdest feeling hits me. I feel depression, sadness, anxiety and misery. The whole trip seems foolish all of a sudden--what am I doing out here? The view is beautiful, the air is clear and the weather isn't bad... why do I feel so miserable? I figure it's my survival instinct. I go to bed, and awake just after dawn, feeling much better. I bounce back down the hill and make it to the Nordegg cafe (where my car was parked) by 9:00. I have breakfast and drive home to spend the rest of the day with my friends. The trip was a success. ======== May 24, 2014 Bike Trip, Sylvan Lake to Gull Lake I pick up Logan in Red Deer and drive him (and his bike) to my parent's house in Sylvan Lake. We leave immediately. No delays. Two hours later we get to Gull Lake. The trip almost kills me from exhaustion, but we make it to a provincial park and set up a modest campsite. The next morning we set out and I realize immediately that my ass bone has been bruised by the weight of my pack pressing against the bike seat. Sitting on the seat is agonizing pain. No wonder I've never seen anybody bike with a backpack on. It's the same trek we did yesterday, but all uphill and with a headwind. I use everything I have and make it back to Sylvan in two hours. Logan isn't in nearly as bad of shape as I am; he really enjoys the trip. Sidenote: This will be the last trip I take without a thermarest. Sleeping on gravel was too much of an experience for me. ======== June 1, 2014 Skydiving at Innisfail Regional Airport Fitzy, Tailer, Kevin and I went Skydiving at the regional airport in Innisfail. It was Fitzy's idea. We jumped tandem, two at a time. I went up with Tailer and the guy strapped to me was named Jeff. The whole day was crazy fun. The skydiving culture is very chill. Once you have your gear and you certification, it only costs 40 bucks a jump. Skydiving people just bum around the airport and enjoy the weather. I loved the experience, but I don't think I would make a hobby out of it (much less a lifestyle). The best part of freefall is the first few seconds, when you're accelerating downwards. Then it's just loud and painful. The wind assaults you, stretching your skin and wrecking your ears. Pulling the chute is the release. World is perfectly silent when you pull the cord. ======== June 7, 2014 Hiking in the Foothills past Caroline Tailer and I went past Caroline to climb a foothill. We go 1400 ft up quad trail to a beautiful view, along a saddle, and over to another peak. We wanted to overlook our camping spot (seven mile flats), but that didn't happen. The second peak was obscured by trees. We did get a look at Limestone, though. I want to climb that mountain. I had a lot of fun on this hike, and I learned a lot. I always do. The bugs were bad. I made a note of them for next time. Near the end of our expedition, as we got back to hiking on the main road, we stumbled across a mama bear and her cub. The situation got pretty heated, but all four both kept our cool. We were upwind of them, so the mama bear circled around behind us. We weren't unequipped; Tailer had his 44 magnum and I had bear spray. We got out of there, but it was hairy. Tailer fired a warning shot when the bear approached. ======== June 22, 2014 Mt. Grotto in Canmore Fitzy, Tailer and I woke up early and drove to Canmore, where we all climbed our first mountain. The climb was 4400 feet, and it took all day. We didn't summit (unfortunately), but we got within a few hundred feet. We ate our Subway and started to climb down feeling pretty good. It was a good thing too--we were absolutely wrecked by the time we got to the bottom. It hurt a lot. I got a killer sunburn on my arms and legs where I didn't use sunscreen. I used a simple canvas handbag. It wasn't bad at all when you pack light. My backpacks were too big. This trip made me want to climb other mountains--most notably Mt. Mitchener (east of Abraham Lake) and Mt. Limestone (West of Caroline). ========= June 28, 2014 Botched Attempt at Mt. Limestone I packed my gear and headed to Seven Mile flats to attempt Limestone. Since the mountain is on the south side of the river, I crossed the river a little farther down, hoping to backtrack through the bush and make it around the river. I didn't make it. Not even close. The vegetation was thick, wet, dense and un-penetrable. Distances that I expected to cross within the hour took many times longer. I saw bear tracks and bear droppings. The prospect of encountering a bear while alone is my number one fear. The anxiety I encountered on my first hike came back. My heart beat in cut time and my stomach sank. I felt worthless and weak. It was too much. I caved to anxiety and doubt and turned back. It had been two and a half hours and I wasn't anywhere near where I wanted to be. I failed, but I don't consider myself a failure. I went to Chelsea's house that night and had a fire with all my friends. ======== June 29, 2014 Hiking in the Foothills past Caroline (Part II) I took Jeremy, Steve and Fitzy to the mountain that Tailer and I climbed a few weeks ago. It was much easier this time. I think that I am getting better at hiking. All four of us packed relatively light, hiked the quad trail, and made it to the top. We drank a celebratory beer and hiked back down. Not much left to say. ======== July 5, 2014 Hiking Northeast side of Abraham Lake to Mt. Mitchener Logan and I drove to Abraham Lake after I got off work. We parked on the north side of the dam and made our way through south along the network of quad trails. The quad trails are ugly--all chewed up and wrecked. The plan was to hike to the base of the mountain, climb as high as we could and climb back down. We got to the mountain, but we never climbed it. Logan is still relatively inexperienced and he developed massive blisters on his heels. Every step must have been pain and anguish for him. Still, I pushed him to the base of the mountain, we set up camp, found a mountain stream, and had a great time. During this trip I was overwhelmed by the beauty and ease of everything. The country around the lake was filled with driftwood, the trees were sparse, and there was a nice breeze at all times. The wildlife was in bloom; there were flowers and frogs everywhere and the whole scene was picturesque. By comparison, Caroline is swampy and undesirable. On the way back we took the wrong turn and ended up on the far edge of the cliffs on the east side. Bushwacking added another hour on to our trek, and Logan's wits were at an end. He kept it together so well. I will have to come back and attempt Mt. Michener again. Who knows. ======== August 2, 2014 Climbing Onion Peak by Ram Falls Logan, Fitzy and I left early for Ram Falls. Fitzy brought his gun and his combat gear. Like any of us, he likes a challenge. Logan and I packed relatively light. We walked along the trail, anticipating to cross two streams, but both fords were dry. In fact, everything was dry. We turned off the mountain and headed north through the bush. The bush was spacious and easy to traverse. Still, Fitzy had too much gear; Logan and I helped to lighten his load. We set up camp at a beautiful plateau overloking the canyon. It was beautiful. We ate a quick bit of food and took to the mountain. We raced a thunderstorm as we climbed. The clouds were black like death on the other side of the mountain. Against better judgement we just kept going, taking minimal breaks. I was putting all I had into it and we neglected to bring water. Between the three of us, we only had 500ml to share. We got to a false summit. With the wind, the lack of water, the thunder and the clouds we decided that it was good enough. I got back to camp and I was destroyed. I was severely dehydrated. My body and mind had been crushed. I pounded another 750ml of water and fell asleep. It rained. Two hours later I awoke feeling better, but my legs still hurt from the dehydration. We had a campfire and sat around. In the morning we hiked into the mouth of the ford, and found a stream that formed from the rain. I drank two liters. The crisp mountain water washed away everything that plauged me and my soul was lifted. Never again will I neglect water. Water is life. ======== August 16, 2014 Mt. Limestone Logan and I drove to the west side of Limestone and parked on the Shell service road. The weather wasn't great while we were driving--we almost fell off the muddy road--but it got better. There was a long clearing, every square inch of it was covered with tiny strawberries. We went through some steep stuff, and within two hours we were at the top. The top of limestone is a government run fire lookout and research station. We trespassed, but respected everything we came across. Nobody was there, anyways. The view from the top was the perfect apex to the summer. From that view, I could see all the little foothills I had climbed. I knew the area very well. I felt like I belonged there. We hiked back down a different way and our spirits were never higher. Limestone wasn't hard, but we were truly happy. ======== August 23, 2014 Corkscrew Mountain (Extention of the Ricinus Hill Hike) Fitzy, Tailer, Steve, Jeremy and I went out for one last one before the fall. We all have to go to school. I have to go to Edmonton--far from the mountains. It makes me sad to leave.