ADVENTURE DIARY http://adventurediary.neocities.org/ 2015 WEEKEND LOG ======== January 3, 2015 Ricinus Hill Tailer and I took Qing (my sister's roommate from China) to the first mountain we ever climbed. The snow was slippery, but it was a nice hike to the top. She expected there to be a shrine at the top. Nope--just a dozen small rocks in a pile. (Haha.) ======== January 23, 2015 Cline Fire Lookout Tailer and I left Edmonton super early in the morning. We parked just off the highway and walked across Lake Abraham. The ice was plenty thick. Cline Fire Lookout is the smaller, less intimidating peak south of Michener. The snow was deep, and we felt the burn as we climbed. Tailer wore jeans, which was probably a crappy idea, but he did okay anyways. We got to the top and Tailer took some pictures. It was a good one. ======== February 1, 2015 Mt. Michener in the Winter JP, Logan and I went to Lake Abraham for the day to climb Michener. I had just met JP at that point and he wanted a challenge (I guess he got it). I consider this my first attempt on an actual mountain. We had ice axes and cold weather gear. There was no trail. We tried for the summit, but we were greatly inexperienced: we tackled the wrong side. We came to a sheer cliff and piddled around the side of it. It was a great experience. JP took a lot of pictures, which was neat. We never get our pictures taken. ========= February 14, 2015 Ricinus Hill I took Sarah up Ricinus Hill (on Valentine's Day). She hadn't climbed it, but I know the ridge like the back of my hand. We got to the summit--along the ridge, past the first peak--and had a picnic on the soft leichens.